The Joe T Classic saw the boys’ Monroe and Lathrop girls’ teams secure the tournament crowns

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Monroe Catholic Rams faced a familiar foe this past weekend in the Joe "T" Classic, as they faced the Lathrop Malemutes for the second time this season.
The Rams won 58-42 over Lathrop as Isaac Garcia dropped 16 to send the Rams into the championship game.
Jhon Rones was the leading scorer for the Malemutes with 14, as they struggled against Monroe's defense.
The Rams then won the tournament title on Saturday against the Kenai Central Kardinals, taking it 59-36.
Monroe got 15 points from Gabe Silas to help the Rams head into the West Anchorage Tournament with momentum.
In the girls' bracket, the Lathrop Malemutes erupted on offense to put away Monroe 82-45.
Both Ella Roberts and Olivia Kraska combined for 40 points, as Roberts dominated from outside while Kraska worked the boards to her advantage.
Grace Hodges led the Rams with 21 points, as they had a tough time against the Lathrop half court defense.
In the championship game against the Kodiak Bears, Lathrop won 78-46 thanks to tourney MVP Ella Roberts who dropped 23 on the night.