The All-American USA Alaska teams were announced this week with Interior athletes representing the Frozen North

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The USA Today All-American lists for each state were released this week, as some of the Interio athletes made the first and second teams, including one of them earning Defensive Player of the Year.
We start with the Coach of the Year, which was awarded to Galen Brantley Jr. who led the Division II Soldtona Stars to a 9-1 record and their seventh straight championship.
The offense player of the year comes from the East Anchorage Thunderbirds, as Colton Herman led the T-Birds as a running back to the DI state championships.
The first team saw the Service Cougars' Jason Villanueva-Kaeo be named the top quarterback, with Herman and Hunter Cargill of the Bartlett Golden Bears be named for the backfield.
The receiving corps had Service's Henry Helgeson, the Colony Knights' Julian McPhail and tight end Aiden Williams from East Anchorage.
We now give some love to the big guys, as the first teamers is the West Anchorage Eagles' Su'a Asi, SoHi's Levi Benner, the Eielson Ravens' and Interior juggernaut Scott Fry, East's Noah Johnson and Bartlett's Thomas Sio.
The second team offensive line had Colony's Ethan Connaker, the Lathrop Malemutes' Corbin Tomaszewski and Danny Panama, the Palmer Moose's Parker Smith and Bartlett's Maximillan Schuster.
And in the skill positions, we have Lathrop's Juan Mendez, West's Jonah Gladney and Galen Brantley III from SoHi to make up the receiving corps.
And the back field has Bartlett's Elijah Lear and Lathrop's Bubba Maschmeier, while Colony's Eric Christy was named the second team QB.
Now we look at defense, starting with the Defensive Player of the Year, as Deondric Henderson of the Lathrop Malemutes.
The senior led the Mutes with 55 tackles, 6.5 sacks and four interceptions as Lathrop made the playoffs this past season.
And with that we look at the first team defensive line, as we have East's Daryl Delaguiron and Kymani Vaivai, Service's Hunter Pounds and SoHi's Aaron Faletoi.
The linebacking corps has Lathrop's Henderson, East's Hale Siulua and Colony's Zane Vrvilo.
The defensive backs with Dimond's RJ Cavazos and Michael Levu, Chugiak's Jacob Osheshky and SoHi's Jersey Truesdell.
For the second team defense, we have on the D-Line with Fia Faalata and Poe Vaafuti from West, South's Henry Saafi and Bartlett's Leroy Manogiamanu.
The linebackers were Soldotna's Hudson Metcalf, and West's Dhar Montalbo and Nate Tilo.
And for the defensive backs, we ended up with Eagle River's Ryan Adkins, Juneau's Hansel Hinckle, West Valley's Avery Weston and Lathrop's Michael Zadra.
And the special teamer was Colony's Noah Krozel.