The Alaska Nanooks return home the Governor's Cup to Fairbanks for the 10th straight year

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Alaska Nanooks captured the Governor's Cup for the 10th straight year in a row after they swept the anchorage Seawolves this past weekend.
The nooks dominated the Seawolves in game three four-nothing, as they used their special teams to the fullest extent.
In the first period, max newton scored to open up the night while Steven Jandric scoring on a power play in the second.
In the third, Ryker Leer and Jandric scored on unassisted goals to put the game away.
In five penalty kills, the nooks limited the Seawolves to only a single shot on special teams.
Anton Martinsson turned in another great performance, as he got 22 saves for the Nanooks.

The Nanooks just needed a single point against the Seawolves in game four to take home the Gov Cup, but at first it looked like the Seawolves may have had something to say about that.
Anchorage scored in the second, and their defense held the nooks out of the nets until the final frame.​
The special teams then showed up once again, as the nooks got two power play goals to put away the Seawolves and grab the cup.​
Tyler Cline hit one with 9 minutes left, and then Kyler Hope dropped in the game winner with about five minutes left.​
Martinsson got 24 saves, as head coach Erik Largen extended their Gov Cup winning streak to 10 years in a row.​