The 2019 Iron Dog Race Team 10 Capture Back-to-Back Championships

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - For the second consecutive year, Team 10 of Mike Morgan and Chris Olds have won the Iron Dog race.
Morgan and Olds finished the 2,000 mile race at Pike's Landing right before 11 on Saturday in the morning.
They outpaced the second place finishers, Team 6 of Drinkhouse and George, by about 20 minutes.
The third place team of Boylan and Leslie finished about 15 minutes later to round out the top three for the year.
For Morgan and olds, this is their second consecutive first place finish as a team.
This is Morgan's second overall championship in the Iron Dog and the fourth for Olds.
This team held the lead throughout the vast majority of the race, and were the first team to check into every checkpoint from Nome to Fairbanks.
Team 10 spoke after the race about capturing first once again.
"I don't ever feel like we had it won until we crossed the finish line. Just anything can happen and it's still nerve-wracking. Obviously, we felt really good this morning getting up and having a 35 minute lead or whatever it was. But still, that 35 minutes can go away real fast if you have some kind of problem. So until we cross the finish line I don't feel like we have anything won at all,” said Olds.
"It's surreal, I don't even have words for it. It doesn't even make sense. Once I'm done racing it'll probably make a lot more sense to reflect on, but it's just crazy to think about,” said Morgan.