Peter Kaiser has won the 2019 Iditarod

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The 2019 Iditarod has its champion, as Peter Kaiser crossed the finish line early this morning to capture the 47th Iditarod.
Kaiser took home the gold thanks to a run time of nine days, 12 hours, 39 minutes and 6 seconds.​
He beat out the field by 12 minutes to secure his first ever Iditarod title.​
The 31 year old musher out of Bethel, Alaska has made big improvements from his rookie year in 2010 when he finished in 28th.​
In 2012 he finished in fifth, and from 2016 to 2018 he finished in the top 10, but that all falls to the background as he stands on top of the mountain in one of Alaska's biggest races.​
The 2019 champion started the race with 14 dogs, and made it to Nome with eight as Kaiser stayed in the top five for most of the grueling race.​
Kaiser arrived in Nome to a thunderous roar at 3:39 this morning, and he spoke about winning the Iditarod for the first time in his career.​
"I really didn't feel confident until we hit the road and looking back quite often knowing the type of driver that he is. I didn't count him out, and I knew that he was slow enough that he could make up time quickly if he got his team rolling. Yeah I didn't feel like I had it won at any point until coming down the road here," said Kaiser.
The Iditarod still has mushers out there making their way to Nome.
Kaiser took first while second went to Joar Leifseth Ulsom who ended the race 12 minutes behind Kaiser.​
Also into Nome taking the bronze is Jessie Royer.​
Royer came in at 9 days, 18 hours, 34 minutes and five seconds.​
Aliy Zirkle is on the final stretch out of the Safety checkpoint, while in fifth we have Travis Beals.