Iron Dog: Leaderboard Updates

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska. (KTVF) 5:30 P.M. AKST (Thu.) - Leaders since day one, Tyler Aklestad and Nick Olstad of Team 7 still hold the lead, leaving about 1,800 miles of trail behind them so far. Hot on their trail, two-time defending Iron Dog champions, Mike Morgan and Chris Olds (Team 10) climb to second place after a busy day four, pushing Brad George and Tyson Johnson (Team 6) to third. Todd Minnick and Daniel Thibault (Team 16) are in fourth, while Casey Boylan and Bryan Leslie (Team 14) round out the top five. Fifteen teams remain on the Iron Dog trail, with the first half of the race behind them.

Start of the 2020 Iron Dog Race (Aaron Walling, February 16, 2020/KTVF)


5:30 P.M. AKST - The Matanuska Valley team Tyler Aklestad and Nick Olstad continue to pace the field on day 3, knocking out 1,286 miles worth of trail. Team 6, Brad George and Tyson Johnson take over second place after Cody Barber and Robby Schachle scratched. Climbing up the boards, Team 5 with Brett Lapham and Zack Weisz currently in third. Sitting in fourth place, Casey Boylan and Bryan Leslie, while Team 16, Todd Minnick and Daniel Thibault, round out the top 5. After 29 teams left the starting line in Fairbanks on Sunday, 13 have scratched, leaving 16 teams on the 2,395-mile trail.

The 2020 Iron Dog race started this week with close to 30 teams tackling the cold temps and the long trail. The brutal conditions has already claimed five teams, leaving 24 battling for supremacy.

At the top of the leaderboard is Team #7 with Tyler Aklestad and Nick Olstad. The pair from the Matsu-Valley checked into Kotzebue, AK at 4:59 P.M. on Monday. In second it is Team #39 with Cody Barber and Robby Schachle. Barber and Schachle are about 180 miles behind the leaders.

Then in third it is Team #6 with Brad George and Tyson Johnson. They are right behind Team #39. In fourth it is Team #10 with Mike Morgan and Chris Olds. Out in fourth it is Team #10 with Mike Morgan and Chris Olds, while the family duo of Team #12 with Kenneth and Kruz Kleewein are in fifth.

Continue to monitor this page for updates and results for the 2020 Iron Dog race.