Interior athletes compete in conference tourneys for a chance to make it to state

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Mid Alaska Conference wrestling tournament concluded over the weekend in North Pole with state title spots on the line.
And the Lathrop Malemutes continued their dominance in the Interior winning on team scores.
Lathrop secured the conference crown through their 322.5 points, while second went to North Pole at 195.5 and West Valley finished in third with 135.
Looking at the individual divisions, Lathrop took the 103, 112 and the 119 thanks to Jeremy Bockert, Roberto Lechuga Porras and Garrett Bourne.
North Pole won the 125 and the 135 with the efforts of Sabastian Benefield and Jake Alexander, while William Poland won the 130 for the Malemutes.
Lathrop turned it around with gold clinching victories in the 140 and 152 with Kobe Ames and Josiah Opp, while West Valley's Isaac Coon secured the 145.
The 160 and 171 was won by Lathrop with the performances from Andrue Shepersky and Sage Martin.
The 189 was won by Bradley Antesberger of the North Pole Patriots, while Jacob Blanchard took the 215.
And finally in the 285, Shaun Conwell struck gold for the Wolfpack.
These wrestlers will be competing in the Alaska State tournament which will begin this upcoming weekend.

Meanwhile down in Su Valley, the rest of the Interior squads competed in the Denali Conference tournament.
The Glennallen Panthers took first, while Eielson grabbed the silver with 165.5 points, the Hutchison Hawks took seventh, and in a tie for 10th was the Lathrop Malemutes and the North Pole Patriots.
Strating in the girls 103, Jolie Lucas won it for the Dirty Birds while Autumn Poland won the 112 for Lathrop.
The 119, 125 and 130 titles were won by the North Pole Patriots, thanks to Elizabeth Schumaker, Dakota Darby and Janice Dykes.
The 135 class was won by Kaleiha Ashbury of the Hutchison Hawks, and Nailah Bealer took home the gold for Eielson in the 145.
The Mutes' won the 160 thanks to Desarae Matheny, Megan Parrish took the 189 for North Pole and the 235 was won by Debranna Bealer for the Dirty Birds.
Now we get to the boys' division weight titles, and we start with the Ravens winning the 135 on the efforts of Joshua Baird.
They also won the 152 on the back of Graham Staley, and Kalen Moore-Thomas secured the 215.
These winners will also be heading to Anchorage for the state tournament, starting this weekend.