2017 Iditarod Award Ceremony Honors Outstanding Mushers, Dogs

By  | 

NOME, Alaska (KXDF) - The Award Ceremony for the 2017 Iditarod took place in Nome Sunday evening.

There were numerous awards that you would expect to be given out such as Musher of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

However, there were also some very unique awards being handed out.

For example, the Gold Coast Award was presented to the first musher to reach the Unalakleet checkpoint. For doing so, Wade Marrs received a trophy as well as $3,500 worth of gold nuggets.

The first musher to the Kaltag checkpoint, Mitch Seavey, received $2,000 as well as 25 pounds of fresh salmon.

For being first to the Tanana checkpoint, Nicolas Petit received a gourmet dinner as well as $3,500 in one dollar bills on a commemorative gold pan.

And my personal favorite, the Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award was given to Michelle Phillips. She recieved $1,049 in pocket change inside a Northern Air Cargo Jacket.

Mitch Seavey, the Iditarod Champion, won the most awards. For being the champion, he was awarded a new Dodge Ram Truck, which the winner has received every year since 1991. This will be the 6th truck in a row going home with a Seavey.

Seavey's lead dog, Pilot, was also honored with the Golden Harness Award as the Most Outstanding Lead Dog.

Jessie Royer was named the m=Most Inspirational Musher by the other mushers, and for that was awarded her entry fee into next year's Iditarod.