HS wrestling for the Interior started with two tournaments

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) The Houston Altercation:

West Valley's wrestling program started with "The Altercation" down in the Mat-su Valley.

Out of the 20 teams, the West Valley Wolfpack earned a sixth place finish which included a pair of first place titles. In the 145 class, Isaac Coon won the first place match by a 5-4 decision, while Shaun Conwell won the 285 title with a pin-fall. The red and gold also had other wrestlers grabbing spots in other classes. Chase Valentine took fourth in the 119, and Kai Chen took fourth as well in the 125. In the 189, Peter Macchione grabbed fourth.

Lathrop Takedown:

In Fairbanks, there was the Lathrop Takedown Tournament.

In the 103 class, Lathrop's Ian Werner took first, while Jaxon Webb won the 112. Eielson then won the 119 with Nathaniel Mayer, and North Pole won the 130 thanks to Darinn Peterson.

Delta's Orrin Hicks won the 135, and Lathrop returned to their winning ways taking the 140 with Jacob Johnson. Eielson then won back-to-back titles in the 145 and 152 with Joshua Baird and Adam Jockusch.

Lathrop's tennis star Luke Millam won the 160, and Delta's Stephen Hunt won the 171. The purple and gold won the 189 with Sean Michel, and Nephi Tidwell took the 215 for the Dirty Birds.

In the girls, division, Lathrop won the 112 and 119 with Kaylana Keith and Autumn Poland. They also won the 160 thanks to Desarae Matheny, while North Pole won 125 thanks to Janice Dykes. Debranna Bealer of Eielson won the 189.

Copyright 2019 KXDF. All rights reserved.