Our Interior wrestlers grabbed gold in the Alaska State Tournament

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Lathrop Malemutes as a team couldn't repeat as state champions in DI wrestling, but they did manage to finish in the top three, as our Interior athletes battled on the mats in Anchorage.
Lathrop took the bronze with a score of 261.5 points, while North Pole grabbed sixth with 81 and the West Valley Wolfpack finished in 11th with 42 points.
For the individual brackets, we start in the 103 class as Jeremy Bockert of the Malemutes took down the tournament favorite in Adam Concepcion who was undefeated going into the finals for South Anchorage.
Bockert won on a 9-2 decision victory.
In the 112, Lathrop got the bronze thanks to Roberto Lechuga Porras, while Sabastian Benefield took third in the 125 for the Patriots.
Lathrop got another bronze, this time in the 130 with William Poland, as Kobe Ames snagged the silver in the 140 for the Mutes.
They ruled the 160 with the top two spots going to their team with Adrue Sherpersky nabbing the gold, while Nathan Kisgen got the silver.
The 189 finished with North Pole's Bradley Antesberger completing the perfect season and securing the gold in his final year.

Meanwhile the DII Wrestling tournament was also going on with more interior athletes battling on the mats.
The 135 class saw Joshua Baird claimed fifth for the Eielson Ravens, while Graham Staley also finished in fifth for the 152.
Omar Powers then grabbed fifth for the Delta Junction Huskies in the 171, while Nephi Tidwell grabbed the bronze for the Dirty Birds in the 189.

And to top it off, the girls wrestling tournament also concluded over the weekend.
The 103 gold was captured for Jolie Lucas for the Eielson Ravens, while the 112 bronze was won by Autumn Poland of the Lathrop Malemutes.
The 119 title was won by Elizabeth Schumaker of the North Pole Patriots, while in the 125, fourth went to the Hutchison Hawks' Kaitlynne Rice and fifth went to Lathrop's Aiyanna Erhart.
The 130 bronze was secured by Janice Dykes of North Pole, and the 135 bronze was won by Kaleiha Ashbury of Hutch.
Silver in the 145 went to Nailah Bealer, and Megan Parrish grabbed third in the 189 for the Patriots.
And to finish off the brackets, Debranna Bealer won the 235 gold for the Dirty Birds.