Wrestlers from Eielson, Monroe Catholic, and Glennallen bring home State Championships

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Division 2 Tournament also saw interior Wrestlers bring home some hardware.
Monroe Catholic sent two wrestlers down to the State Tournament, and both wrestlers earned first place finishes.
Riley Rust took first place in the 126 and Tanner Clark won the state title for the 220 pound class.
Jason Montes and Omar Powers represented the Delta Huskies.
Montes took third in the 126 and Powers placed sixth in the 170.
The lone representative for the Hutchison Hawks was Kye Pearce, who took second place in the 138.
Caden Gurlach brought a state championship home for the Glennallen Panthers, placing first in the 170 pound weight class.
For the Eielson Ravens, Sylvin Carter took fifth place in the 98 pound weight class, Graham Staley placed sixth in the 145, and their newest State Champion Deven Perez took first place in the 106 pound weight class.
Perez is Eielson's first state Champion since Nathan Ezell won it all in in 2013.
Deven Perez; State Champion - Eielson>>: "I just felt blessed because it's the moment I've been praying for and I worked hard for it. And I got to end my senior year with a win. I just felt satisfied because, like, all the sacrifices you make just goes out the window and it's all worth it in the end. And I gotta give thanks to all my coaches and all my practice partners that helped me get up there. It's an amazing feeling. I want to go to college after this. Hopefully the academy. My coaches are going to try to hook me up with one of the coaches down there. So, yeah."