West Valley and Lathrop hockey teams to merge for 2018/2019 season

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - High School Hockey season is right around the corner, and things are going to be pretty different this year for our interior teams.
First off, earlier this week the Lathrop and West Valley teams announced that they would be combining their forces and playing as one team this season.
This new combined squad will be called "The Pack" and will open up their season on October 30th in the Big Dipper Ice Arena with a contest against the North Pole Patriots.
The puck is scheduled to drop on that home opener at 3pm.
That's not the only shake-up for our interior squads.
The Pack will be competing in the newly formed North Star Conference along with Colony and Wasilla at the Division One level.
The Mid Alaska Conference, which consisted of Lathrop, West Valley, North Pole, and Juneau no longer exists.
The Patriots will now be playing at the Division 2 Level in the Aurora Conference along with Monroe, Hutchison, Delta, Glennallen, and Tri-Valley.