West Valley Volleyball defends home court;Wins Gold Bracket of Invitational Tournament

By  | 

Fairbanks, Alaska The West Valley Invitational Volleyball tournament wrapped up on Saturday with the Gold and Red Brackets.
The Top teams from the Pool Play rounds on Friday were put in to the Gold Bracket while the rest were seeded into the Red.
The West Valley Wolfpack were able to stand tall, winning the Gold Bracket after sweeping Valdez in the Championship game.
The Wolfpack were the #3 seed after going 7-2 in the pool play rounds.
Valdez finished in second while Mt. Edgecumbe took third and Monroe took fourth place while Hutch took fifth.
In the Gold Bracket-All Tournament team, West Valley had three players in Ellen Silva, Jozey Martellaro, and the MVP Kami Steel.
Marian Nelson and Chloe Maynard represented Monroe on the all-tournament team while Alyssa Goforth was honored for Hutch.
The Red Bracket was won by the Barrow Whalers, who defeated North Pole 2 sets to 1 in the title game.
Lathrop took third place, the West Valley JV team took fourth and Eielson took fifth.
Sydney Teel, Ainsley Smith, and Kinley Erickson from North Pole made the All-Tournament team while Kelli Fitzgerald and Harmony Lappui represented Lathrop, Ali May and Claire Olsen were selected from the West Valley JV and Gabriella Baker made it for Eielson.