Nanook Hockey team hosts annual scrimmage; names Koberstein Captain for 2018-19

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - It was a party in the Patty on Saturday night as fans filled the UAF Patty Center to watch their Alaska Nanook Hockey team hit the ice in a competitive setting for the first time all year in the annual Blue/Gold Scrimmage.
The team was split into two different squads, and team Gold won the scrimmage this year, taking it by a score of 4-0.
Brennan Blaszczack (Blay-zack) was the first to find the back of the net 11 minutes and 21 seconds into the second half.
Colton Leiter and Freshman Sam Ruffin also lit the lamp while Matthew Doran closed the game out with an empty-netter.
There was also a skill's competition at halftime, which saw Junior Forward Kylar Hope win the fastest skater competition and his teammate Kyle Marino win the Hardest Shot contest with a 99 mile an hour slapshot.
Saturday also saw the Nooks name their new captain for this season.
Nikolas Koberstein will be wearing the "C" on his jersey this year while Marino and Ryker Leer were named Alternate Captains.
We spoke to Koberstein after the scrimmage on Saturday about this quickly approaching season and his new role.