Monroe, Delta, and North Pole victorious in MAC baseball opening round games

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Mid Alaska Conference Baseball Championships began yesterday and the semi-final matchups are now set.
In the opening game, Monroe defeated Hutchison 2-1. ​
The game was tied at one in the bottom of the sixth inning, but Jake Footit brought home Izak Lohrke to break the tie and secure the win. ​
Lohrke also pitched 6.2 innings, striking out 14 and not allowing a hit. ​
Footit and Gabe Silas then stepped in to complete the No-hitter. ​
The North Pole Patriots then took on the Lathrop Malemutes. ​
North Pole advanced in dominant fashion, winning 12-2. ​
Alex Kazense led the Patriots with 3 RBIs while Gavin Fischer crossed home plate three times. ​
And the final opening round matchup saw another 10 run victory, with Delta defeating Eielson 11-1. ​
Omar Powers and Luke Schmidt both finished with 2 RBIs. ​
Kevin Vertz pitched all five innings on the mound, striking out 8 and only allowing 5 hits. ​
Delta and North Pole will now face off in the semis while Monroe Catholic will play the top seeded West Valley. ​
The winners will advance to the Mid Alaska Conference title game. ​