Monroe Boys and Lathrop girls earn Joe T. Classic titles

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The 7th annual Joe T. Classic Basketball tournament came to an end at Lathrop High School, and two teams won their side of the tourney with perfect records.
We'll start with the Girls side of the tournament, where Lathrop defended their home court with a 3-0 record.
Their final opponents of the weekend were the Kodiak Bears, who they defeated 78-46.
Ella Roberts led the Malemutes with 23 points.
On the boy's side, Monroe Catholic went 3-0, sealing the tourney crown with a 59-36 win.
Gabe Silas and Izak Lohrke both finished with 15 points for the Ramswhile Isaac Garcia earned tournament MVP on the boy's side and Lathrop's Ella Roberts earned the nod for the Girls.
In other tournament action, the Hutchison Girls won the Dean Cummings tournament in Delta with a 50-39 victory over the Nome-Beltz Nanooks.
Kianna Kriska led the Hawks with 19 points.
And the West Valley girls also brought home a tournament crown, winning the Palmer Elks Showdown with a 73-46 win over Sitka.
Sierra Tate was the top scorer for the Pack with 17 points.
On the boys side of that tournament, West Valley finished at 2-1 after defeating Sitka 63-55.
Demarcus Davis dropped 15 for the Pack in that tourney finale.