Lathrop claims Conference title at Region 6 Tennis Meet

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - After a five day delay, the Region Six Tennis Championships came to a head at the Dan Ramras Community Tennis Courts last night.
The Lathrop Malemutes were able to continue the roll they have been on all season, winning the team title while also hosting the most individual Conference Champions.
The Boys singles bracket was won by Luke Millam, who defeated West Valley's Alex Apicella and his own teammate Riley Knott to win the conference title.
Lathrop also won the girl's singles with Helen Wharton, who won the title as a #2 seed.
She defeated North Pole's Sarah Beaver, West Valley's Kaitlyn Young, and Monroe Catholic's Erin Hendricks to win it all.
The third conference championship for the Malemutes came in the Girls Doubles thanks to Ashley Plys and Hannah Knott, who defeated West Valley's Naomi Hartman and Sam Stark in the championship contest.
Monroe Catholic got their Conference Championship in the Boy's Doubles bracket, Pearson Clark and Jake Footit defeated West Valley's Kade Rowland and Tanner Young to take that title.
And the Mixed Doubles title belongs to Hutchison's Isaiah Moore and Sofia Squires, who were able to defeat Aidan Payan and Morgan Ely from West Valley in the championship game.
Lathrop won the team title with a 47 point score while West Valley took second with 27 points and Monroe took third with 20.
We talked to Wharton and Millam about what makes this Lathrop Tennis Team so dominant.