Lathrop and West Valley Football players named to All-state first team

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Division 2 level saw players from Lathrop and West Valley being honored as first team all-state.
Starting off with the offensive side of the ball, the Malemutes saw runningback Bubba Maschmeier, Reciever Juan Mendez, Offensive Tackle Corbin Tomaszewski, and Guard Danny Panama.
The Wolfpack's lone first teamer on offense was Center Joe Kimbrough.
Defensively, Tomaszewski doubled up by being named first team D-Lineman as well, while the Malemutes also saw linebackers Jace Henry and Deondric Henderson honored.
Michael Zadra was named first team Defensive Back.
And for West Valley, Avery Weston was named first team DB as well.
Weston was also named first team return specialist while Ethan Raygor was named first team Kicker.
Lathrop's Jace Henry received a first team Punter spot.
In the end of the year awards, the State Champion Soldotna Stars received the most recognition.
They won Offensive Player of the year with Jersey Truesdell, Lineman of the year with Levi Benner, and Assistant coach of the year with Eric Pomerleau.
Eagle River's Bob Adkins won coach of the year, and Lathrop's Deondric Henderson was named Defensive Player of the year.