Lathrop Wrestling team wins first State Title in 17 years

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The interior is now officially home to the best Wrestling Team in Alaska for 2017.
The Lathrop Malemutes won the team title in the Wrestling State Championship Tournament in Anchorage with a 320 point score, outscoring the Colony Knights by two points.
The Malemutes saw two individual State Champions being crowned.
Freshman Kobe Ames won the 132 pound weight class for the Malemutes and Westley Bockert won the 145.
In total, the Malemutes had seven grapplers place inside the top 3.
Jeremy Bockert took second place in the 98 pound weight class, Jacob Spencer took second in the 113, Jordon Opp took third in the 138, Zachary Tolver took second in the 160 and Jason Edwards took the runner up spot in the 220 pound weight class.
Several more Malemutes placed just outside of the top three to help guide their team to the state title.
Caedon Ott took fourth in the 138, Wyatt Story took fourth in the 152 and Chad Edwards just missed the Podium in the 182.
This is the first team title for the Malemutes in 17 years.
There was another Interior Wrestler who took first in the Division 1 boys tournament, North Pole's Bradley Antesberger finished his undefeated season to take first place in the 195 pound weight class.
Antesberger didn't lose a single match all year.
He helped Anchor North Pole to an 8th place finish.
We still have a lot to talk about from this weekend's action, including the girls side of the Division 1 tournament and the Division 2 tournament.
We will roll out those results in tomorrow's broadcast.