Lathrop Wrestling Team dominates in the Mid Alaska Conference Championship Tournament

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - Our interior wrestling teams were very busy on Saturday.
Our 4A Level teams were here at home competing in the Mid Alaska Conference Championship Tournament while our 3A teams were in Delta for the Denali Conference Championship tournament.
We will start at West Valley High School, where the MACtion took place.
The Lathrop Malemutes dominated to win their conference for the third time in a row.
They took the team title with a 463 point score.
For comparison, North Pole took second place with 194 points while West Valley took third with 100.
Out of the 15 Weight Classes, the Malemutes won 13 of them.
Jeremy Bockert won the 98 pound class, Roberto Lechuga Porras took the 106, Jacob Spencer won the 113, Jordan Sanchez won the 126, Kobe Ames won the 132, and Caedon Ott won the 138.
The 145 pound class was won by Westley Bockert, the 152 went to Wyatt Story, Zachary Tolver won the 160, Josiah Opp won the 170, Chad and Jason Edwards won the 182 and the 220, and Corbin Tomaszewski won the 285.
The North Pole Patriots were able to get two first place finishes thanks to Darinn Peterson in the 120 pound weight class and Bradley Antesberger in the 195.
The two highest Finishers for the West Valley Wolfpack were Kai Cline, who took second place in the 106, and Allen Holland, who placed second in the 160.
After dominating the Mid Alaska Conference, the Malemutes will now turn their attention to the State Championship Tournament in Anchorage this weekend.
The top three wrestlers in each Weight class earned trips to the big dance, so all three MAC teams will be represented.
It looks like we are out of time for sports tonight so we will talk about the Denali Conference Championship in tomorrow's broadcast.