Fairbanks' Kendall Kramer wins Pride of Alaska award

Local athlete Kendall Kramer wins the Pride of Alaska award.
By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - This afternoon the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame announced their Director's Award recipients for the year and one of the most dominant athletes we've ever seen in Fairbanks was recognized.

West Valley Skier and Runner Kendall Kramer was named the Pride of Alaska Award winner for the female youth class. The Pride of Alaska Award is given to those who show ‘consistent excellence in athletic competition’ and that fits Kramer to a tee.

She has been opening eyes ever since stepping onto the competitive race scene but this year she has been on a whole other level. These past 365 days have seen Kramer win the 1600 and 3200 meter state championships in track, the women's class of the Midnight Sun Run, the Junior Class of the Mount Marathon, the Region 6 Cross Country Championship and the State Cross Country Championships for the Division 1 Level.

The snow in the winter didn't slow her down at all as she then won regional and state skiing titles on her way to being named Alaska's Skimeister for 2018-2019. Arguably her most impressive performance of the year came in the Junior National Skiing Championships in Anchorage, where Kramer won the under-18 class in the individual Freestyle, the Sprint Classic and the Mass Start Classic; sweeping the individual races against the best in the country.

The best part of all of this is that Kramer is only a junior, meaning she still has another year to dominate the state's Cross Country scene.

Other award recipients saw former UAA Hockey Coach Brush Christiansen win the Joe Floyd award for lasting contribution to the state. The Trajan Langdon award for leadership went to Andy Beardsley – the Anchorage runner pushed his wheelchair-bound friend through the Boston Marathon. Lastly the Youth Trajan Langdon Award went to the South High Basketball team. Who allowed their devoted manager Dallin Lewis to step into a game against East, where he sank a shot just before the buzzer.

The other three winners of the Pride of Alaska Award were UAA Runner Caroline Kurgat, Figure Skater Keegan Messing and Soldotna Football star Jersey Truesdell.