Delta and East go undefeated in Midnight Sun Tournament pool play

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Midnight Sun Invitational Softball tournament continued last night and the seeds have been decided.
The eight teams were split into two pools, each containing four teams.​
They then played each other to decide the seeding for Bracket play. ​
Pool A consisted of Lathrop, Delta, Service, and Eielson. ​
The Delta Huskies earned the #1 seed by going a perfect 3-0 in Pool play. ​
They defeated Eielson 11-5, Lathrop 6-5, and Service 9-7. ​
That was the only loss for Service, who received the #2 seed after defeating Lathrop 9-1 and Eielson 11-1. ​
Lathrop earned the third seed with their only win coming against Eielson in the opener for the round robin. ​
Eielson was named the 4th seed after going 0-3. ​
The other pool featured the West Valley Wolfpack, Kodiak Bears, Monroe Catholic Rams, and the defending State Champion East Anchorage Thunderbirds. ​
East went 3-0 to earn the #1 seed, defeating West Valley 12-0, Monroe 19-0, and Kodiak 9-0. ​
They were the only team to hold all three opponents scoreless. ​
West Valley was named the 2 seed after The Pack defeated Monroe 18-0 and Kodiak 6-3. ​
Kodiak's lone win was a 13-0 victory over Monroe, who went 0-3 to take the fourth seed in Pool B. ​
The double-elimination Bracket rounds began this morning. ​
The Matchups saw Delta take on Monroe, West Valley Play Lathrop, Service face Kodiak, and East Anchorage played Eielson. ​
We'll have full results from the Midnight Sun Invitational once it wraps up.