Champions crowned for the 2018 Iron Dog

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - We have a winning team for the 2018 Iron Dog.
Team 10, which consists of Mike Morgan and Chris Olds, was the first team to cross the finish line by the Morris Thompson Cultural and Visitors Center early this afternoon.
They finished the race from Anchorage, up to Nome, and then here to Fairbanks in just under six days.
This is Olds' third time winning the Race, he previously won it back in 2010 and 2011 with Tyler Huntington.
And this is the first win for Mike Morgan, who has raced in the event every year since 2005.
There was a bit of a jumble in the front as Team 6, Brad George and Robby Schachle, finished just four minutes later and then team 16, Todd Minnick and Nick Olstad finished four minutes behind them.
Despite a stressful end of the race, our 2018 Iron Dog Champions were thrilled to come out on top.
Chris Olds and Mike Morgan; 2018 Iron Dog Champions>>: "It's been stressful since we left this morning, I mean, since we got on the clock. Had to do a slight mechanical repair to the sled and it just, you know... having a light cushion to not having much of a cushion just puts your stress level way up here. We weren't able to just cruise in like we wanted to. So we had to kind of push it but not push it too much. And that was out balancing act this whole way in here."
"I would rather have a hard earned, hard fought win that an easy one. I'd have it no other way."