Aurora dishes out All-Conference basketball awards

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTVF) High school basketball awards are rolling out after the preemptive conclusion to the season. The latest honors come from the Aurora, a six-school conference ranging from the Interior of Alaska to Valdez.


Frank Ostanik, a long-time coach in Fairbanks, was named the Aurora Conference Coach of the Year after leading the Monroe Catholic Rams to a perfect 10-0 record against other conference opponents. This season marked the school's 10th consecutive 20-win season, featuring three 3A state championships along the way, all with Ostanik at the helm.

Strong contributors to Monroe's success this season include their trio of all-conference players; Quinn McHenry, Jase McCullough and Malachi Bradley. McHenry, a 6-foot 5-inch sharpshooter, averaged 15.5 points per game, while hauling in 7.2 rebounds and connecting on 41% of his 3-pointers. McCullough, in his first year with the program, took over the floor general duties, averaging 8.6ppg, 4.8rpg, 4.8 assists and two steals per game. Bradley, a freshman who was the leader of the 1A Tanana Wolves as an 8th grader, led the team with 19.2 ppg, grabbed 8.2rpg, and added a pair of steals per game on defense. Bradley also eclipsed the 1,000-point mark during the season. The bad news for the rest of the conference, all of Monroe's honorees will be returning next season; McHenry and McCullough for their senior years, while Bradley will be in just his sophomore season.

Also with a triad of All-Conference nods, the Delta Huskies, who earned second in the Aurora at 7-3. Drenen Magee, Ben Bialik and 1,000-point career scorer Jason Montes were recognized for their performance this season.

Valdez's Jalen Freeman earned Aurora Conference MVP for the 5-5 Buccaneers.

Christian Bolten, another member of the 1,000-point club, was tabbed to the All-Conference team, representing the Eielson Ravens (1-9).

The 1,000-point scorers continue to fill out the All-Conference roster, as Hutchison's (4-6) Mason Young and Deion Frank, who both accomplished the feat this season, were named to the team.

As for the Galena Hawks (3-7), their lone All-Conference member was Joe Riddle.


The Galena Hawks (9-1) swept the individual awards, as David Wightman was named Aurora Conference Coach of the Year, while Pearle Green was tabbed MVP.

Also named All-Conference, Green's teammates Adam Kaganak and Marisa Boliver.

Monroe (8-2) had three All-Conference members in Katie Bast, Grace Hodges and Matteah Felix.

Hutchison (4-6) had a pair of honorees, as Bridget Charlie and 1,000-point scorer Bri Majors were recognized.

Tobias Paige was named to the All-Conference team from Eielson (2-8), while Valdez's (7-3) duo of Reece King and Chloe Auble were also tabbed.