Aklestad and Johnson gain early lead in 2018 Iron Dog

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The 2018 Edition of the Iron Dog kicked off yesterday.
28 snowmachine teams left the Anchorage Checkpoint and are making their way up to Nome, where they will then turn around and make their way to the finish line here in Fairbanks.
Team 8, which is made up of Tyson Johnson and Tyler Aklestad, is currenly in the lead.
They checked out of the Galena Checkpoint at about 3 oclock this afternoon and made their way to Kaltag South.
Team 10, made up of Mike Morgan and Chris Olds, are resting in Kaltag along with Team 8, while Robby Schachle and Brad George, team 6, will round out the top three.
Team 16, Todd Minnick and Nick Olstad, as well as team 14, Casey Boylan and Leslie Bryan, will round out the Top 5.
All these teams have used 14 of their 50 Mandatory Layover hours.
We have had three teams scratch thus far.
Steven Boney and Oliver Unruh, as well as Eric Watson and Andrew Zwink scratched after leaving Big Lake while the team of Aaron Bartel and Tre West scratched after leaving the Ophir checkpoint.