Twelve new cases of COVID-19 detected in six Alaska communities; third Alaska death

By  | 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTVF) The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) today announced 12 new cases of COVID-19 coronavirus in six Alaska communities – Anchorage (4), Eagle River (1), Fairbanks (4), North Pole (1), Juneau (1) and Ketchikan (1). DHSS also reported the third death of an Alaskan from COVID-19.

The individual was a 73-year-old Anchorage resident. The patient was tested on March 23 and admitted to an Anchorage hospital and passed away on the evening of March 28. Five of the new cases are older adults (60+); two are adults aged 30-59; four are younger adults aged 19-29 and one is under 18. Six are female and six are male. Six of the cases are close contacts of previously diagnosed cases; one is travel-related and five are still under investigation.

So far the communities in Alaska that have had laboratory-confirmed cases include Anchorage (including JBER), Eagle River/Chugiak, Girdwood, Fairbanks, North Pole, Homer, Juneau, Ketchikan Palmer, Seward, Soldotna and Sterling.

Find more information about how to keep yourself and your family healthy at

Copyright 2020 KTVF. All rights reserved.