GOP chooses five House Members for positions

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The Alaska House Republicans have announced five leadership positions for the upcoming 31st session of the Alaska Legislature.
Dave Talerico will be the House Speaker, Chuck Kopp from Anchorage will be the Majority Leader, Lance Pruitt from Anchorage and Tammie Wilson from North Pole will be Finance co-chairs, and Cathy Tilton from Wasilla will be the Rules chair.
Even though these positions were announced, it still remains unclear if the G-O-P will have a majority of the house.
It all comes down to the winner of the Fairbanks District 1 race between republican Bart Lebon and Democrat Kathryn Dodge.
If Lebon wins, the GOP will have 21 of the 40 seats in the Alaska House... if Dodge wins, it will be an even split.
Currently Lebon has a one percent lead over Dodge, but the winner has not been officially declared.