Alaska Senators Weigh in on National Emergency Vote

By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska - The US senate voted 59-41 today to oppose President Trump's National Emergency Declaration regarding a southern U-S border wall.
12 Republican senators joined the Democrats in voting to stop the declaration over the border.
Senator Lisa Murkowski was one of those opposed.

"We can and must address the President's very legitimate concerns over border security... but we must not do it at the expense of ceding Congress' power of the purse," Murkowski said.

Senator Dan Sullivan voted against the resolution.

"I could not vote for a bill that, in effect, would block the President's attempt -- using authority authorized by Congress and previously invoked by numerous Presidents -- to better secure the border and keep Americans safe,” Sullivan said President Trump has pledged to veto the bill, and it is unlikely that congress could override his veto.