Local Sports News

Eielson Football Star Gets State Honor

Sat, 10/22/2016 - 15:31 -- csmith

An Eielson Football Star has earned the Wendy's Heisman Honor. This past Thursday Antonio Griffith-Heaton earned a chance to win a Wendy's High School Heisman award at the national level.

Winning the award on the state level he received a $1,000 college scholarship, along with a silver medal and a Wendy's High School Heisman state winner patch. Being 1 out of 100 state winners around the country, Griffith-Heaton is eligible to win a $10,000 college scholarship if he is 1 out of the 10 chosen to win the National award.

Swim meet in Palmer

Wed, 10/19/2016 - 15:30 -- lmcbride

Interior teams travel to Palmer for Valley Invitational.

Volleyball roundup

Wed, 10/19/2016 - 15:25 -- lmcbride

A look at how the high school volleyball teams are dong entering the finals weeks of the season


UAF Swimming Drops Season Opener

Sat, 10/22/2016 - 15:37 -- csmith

UAF Swimming kicked off their season last night at the Patty Center Pool. The Nooks took their first loss of the season courtesy of Drury University.

Drury is ranked third in the Nation by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America. The Nooks feel to the Panthers by 81 points scoring 661 points as the Panthers scored 742 points.


UAF Hockey Moves to 0-1 in Conference Play

Sat, 10/22/2016 - 15:39 -- csmith

Nanooks Hockey dropped their conference opener last night at the Patty Center. Taking on the number nine team in the nation, Minnesota State - Mankota pulled out a seven to one victory over the Nooks.

Sophomore Max Coatta for the Mavericks started the chaos with a wrist shot from the left circle giving them an early 1-0 lead in the first period. Junior Right Wing Austin Vieth scored the only goal for the Nooks less than a minute into the third period. But that was not enough to tame the Mavericks as they out-shot the Nooks 28 - 9 in the first two periods alone.


Ice Dogs up 1-0 in Weekend Series against Kenai

Sat, 10/22/2016 - 15:33 -- csmith

The Ice Dogs are back to winning after taking on their North American Hockey League Midwest Division Rival. The Ice dogs came out of last night with a five to one win over the Kenai River Brown Bears.

Aaron McPheters started the scoring with a wrist shot from the blue line only eight minutes and 25 seconds into the first period. The Ice Dogs did not stop there as three other players lit the lamp last night.

Ice Dogs prepare for home

Fri, 10/07/2016 - 16:19 -- lmcbride

The Ice Dogs are getting set for another series at home this weekend. This time against the New Jersey Titans. Last weekend the Ice Dogs had their first home series of the season and after unveiling a banner for last year's Robertson Cup win the lost to the Johnstown Tomahawks 5-1. They bounced back the next night to take a 3-2 shootout victory. The Titans have a 5-2-1 record which puts them in third place in the East Division. They have one four of their last six games. Players said the coaches had them really working on getting the puck into scoring areas and putting the puck in the net.


Troth Yeddha 5K

Sat, 09/10/2016 - 15:23 -- lmcbride

5th Annual Troth Yeddha 5K

Weekend Preview

Fri, 09/09/2016 - 17:04 -- lmcbride

Look a head at what's happening in sports over the weekend

Weekend Sports

Fri, 09/02/2016 - 17:22 -- lmcbride

A look ahead at the weekend's slate of sports