BP honors six local teachers

Six Fairbanks teachers are among more than 30 statewide to be honored as 2012 British Petroleum Teachers of Excellence.

The local award recipients are high school teachers Christopher Benshoof and Gregory Kahoe, elementary school teachers Karen Dullen, Donna Fitzpatrick, and Larry Mitchell, and charter school teacher Barbara Smith.

This year marked the program's expansion, with all Alaska school districts being considered in the program.

More than 1400 nominations were sent in from all over the state.

Winners receive a 500 dollar gift card and award certificate, while each teacher's school also gets a 500 dollar reward.

Out of the six winners, one will be named BP’s Fairbanks Teacher of the Year.

The awards dinner is going to be held at Wedgewood Resort on April 25th at 6pm.