Sorting out of State committees looking good for Fairbanks


As Newscenter 11 reported last Friday, the Fairbanks region will be well–represented in the Legislature's powerful  House Finance Committee.

What was first reported to be two Interior seats on the committee, has now doubled to four on the 11–member budget writing panel.

Last week, we knew that Republican Representatives Steve Thompson, and Tammie Wilson will serve on the Finance Committee.

Now comes word they will be joined with Democratic Representatives David Guttenberg and Scott Kawasaki.

Representative–elect Doug Isaacson, will co–chair the House Energy Committee, with another new Representative, Pete Higgins chairing the Health and Social Services Committee.

Meanwhile, in the Senate, Majority Leader John Coghill said Friday that Senator–elect Click Bishop has been named to the Senate Finance Committee. Senator–elect Pete Kelly has already had been named co–chairman of that committee.

Coghill says that with the elections and committee appointments now out of the's time to get down to business.