North Pole's Davis and Lathrop's Dickinson win state wrestling titles

ANCHORAGE-The Interior wrestling season culminated on Saturday with two Interior wrestlers becoming state champions.

Ben Davis, of the Patriots, defeated Kodiak's Leo Sega to capture the 285 pound title.

Lathrop's Joe Dickinson also became a champion winning the 160 pound class over Service's Tyler Thammavongsa.

Wasilla ended up winning the state championship with South and Colony finishing second and third. For the Interior teams North Pole placed fifth while Lathrop ended in eighth place and West Valley finished 16th.

Other notable placements for Interior wrestlers include:

Andrew Hendrix of Lathrop getting the bronze in the 120 pound class. Dew Rogers placed fourth in the 132 pound class. Lathrop's Conal Eager was fourth as well for the 138 pounders.

West Valley's Joe Fricilone finished fourth in the 145 pound class. David Best placed fourth in the 160 pound class for North Pole.

Jacob Wharton of Lathrop got the silver in the 182 pound class and for the 195 pounders Josh Miller of the Wolfpack finished in fourth.