The Nanooks continue to receive academic awards

FAIRBANKS-The Alaska Nanook were once again recognized for their prowess off the court. 28 Nanooks were given Division 2 Directors Association Academic Achievement awards.

These awards go to student athletes who have a at least a 3.5 GPA, completed two years of college and on active members on their intercollegiate teams at the division two level.

Of the 28 award winners women's cross country and skiing led UAF with 9 winners. Men's cross country and skiing had 6. Men's basketball and swimming notched four. Volleyball and rifle had two award recipients and women's basketball had one to complete the list of 28.

2012-13 Division 2 ADA Academic Achievement Award

Ryan Anderson (Rifle) Marissa Atoruk (Women's Basketball)
Dallen Bills (Men's Basketball) Kylie Dickerson (Volleyball)
Heather Edic (Women's Cross Country/Skiing) Mats Eriksson (Rifle)
Logan Hanneman (Men's Cross Country/Skiing) Genevieve Johnson (Swimming)
Keri Knight (Volleyball) Danielle Lyons (Swimming)
Ross MacDougall (Men's Cross Country) Wyatt Mayo (Men's Cross Country/Skiing)
Alyson McPhetres (Women's Cross Country/Skiing) Kryston McPhetres (Women's Cross Country/Skiing)
Sarah Meierotto (Swimming) Zach Ngawaka (Men's Basketball)
Heidi O'Connor-Brook (Women's Cross Country/Skiing) Crystal Pitney (Women's Skiing)
Sergej Pucar (Men's Basketball) Marit Rjabov (Women's Cross Country/Skiing)
Theresia Schnurr (Women's Skiing) Tux Seims (Men's Cross Country)
Raphaela Sieber (Women's Cross Country/Skiing) Gabi Summers (Swimming)
Megan Thompson (Women's Cross Country/Skiing) Stefan Tica  (Men's Basketball)
Lex Treinen (Men's Cross Country/Skiing) Ian Wilkinson (Men's Skiing)