Monroe wins Joe T Classic

FAIRBANKS-Saturday was title day for the Joe T Classic at Lathrop High. Before the boys championship the Lathrop girls defeated Monroe for second time this season.

Brooke Lizotte had a game high 17 points. Lathrop led 29-19 in the third and won 41-36 holding off a late charge from Monroe. Andi Clark led Monroe with 15 points.

The Rams however earned second place at the tournament based on a point differential tie-breaker.

The Kodiak Bears went 3-0 defeating Juneau 56-15 for the Joe T girls title.

Kodiak's Jerica Nelson was named MVP. All-tournament picks were Kodiak's Hannah Wandersee, Carissa Cannon, Lathrop's Lizotte Monroe's Sara Hajdukovich and Rachelle Roldan of Juneau.

In the boys title game it was Monroe and Lathrop both teams 2-0 and meeting for the first time this year.

Lathrop was in this one early. Gabriel Howard's layup made it a 4-7 game and in the second Terrell Ford with the nice post move and the bucket. Lathrop was only down five. Monroe was up just 21-16 in the second. Then the Rams flipped the switch and closed out the first half on an 8-0 run.

The defense picked up in the second half as the Rams did not allow a Lathrop point for six minutes.

David Stepovich hit three threes for nine points. Scotter Bynum throws it down for two of his 10 points in the fourth quarter  to put the exclamation point on 61-33 win for Monroe.

The Rams win their third straight tournament championship with Bynum getting his third tournament straight MVP award.

Tyler Wells was all-Joe T as was Cole Berner and Terrel Ford of Lathrop, Juneau's Adam Empson and Austin Frick from Kodiak.