Interior Alaska Natural Gas Utility Board is complete

(Fairbanks, AK) Fairbanks North Star Borough Mayor Luke Hopkins has submitted his final two names to the Interior Alaska Natural Gas Utility Board (IANGU) to the Borough Assembly.

Oran Paul and Jim Laiti will be considered by the assembly on December 6. Paul is the Vice President and Chief Operating officer at Fairbanks Sewer and Water. Meanwhile, Laiti’s experience includes work on the North Slope; he has also worked on Alaska military base plants and utilities, as well as Alaska refinery construction and maintenance projects.

Mayor Hopkins submitted Robert Shefchik’s name in early November. Shefchik currently serves as the University of Alaska Executive Officer.

The City of Fairbanks appointed Frank Abegg and Michael Meeks. The City of North Pole’s board member is Bill Butler.

The IANGU board, which has two meetings under its belt, is scheduled to meet on Tuesday, December 4, 2012 in the Fairbanks City Council chambers at 4:00 P.M. Members have indicated they want to meet on a weekly basis while they work out the details of the utility infrastructure.

Borough Mayor Luke Hopkins says he is glad all the hard work has paid off. “We know how expensive it is to live here,” he said, “And we know it is vital that we get the most cost effective space heating energy sources to our residents as soon as possible. This utility board is a step in the right direction.” He went on to say, “Collectively, the team that the Borough and the cities of Fairbanks and North Pole have put together will provide the guidance and foresight to keep this process moving.”

The IANGU was created to facilitate lowering energy costs for borough residents.