End of an era in the CCHA and WCHA beginning

FAIRBANKS, AK-Tthe CCHA, it is no more. The Fighting Irish of Notre Dame won the last CCHA title with a 3-1 win over the Michigan Wolverines over the weekend.

All the CCHA hockey members will be in different conferences next year. The CCHA has been around for 42 years. The conference has produced 8 NCAA champions, 179 All-Americans, seven Hobey Baker award winners, and over 650 NHL draft picks.

The big reason for this was the formation of the Big Ten hockey conference with Michigan, Michigan State, and Ohio State playing in the Big Ten next year.

UAF will be in the WCHA next year and the National Collegiate Hockey Conference will be in its inaugural season featuring teams like Miami Ohio and Western Michigan. UAF got to the Joe for the first time 2002 and went to the NCAA tournament in the 2009-2010 season for the first time in program history as members of the CCHA.

As mentioned the Nanooks will be moving over to the WCHA which recently revealed their championship sites and a snazzy new logo. The Western Collegiate Hockey Association playoffs will be called the Final Five and will be in Van Andel arena in Grand Rapids Michigan in 2014 and 2016. In the odd years 2013 and 2015 the Final Five will be in Saint Paul Minnesota at the Xcel Energy Center.

Out of the ten team conference the top eight get into the postseason. The top four seeds will have home ice in a best of three series. The Final Five will be a single elimination playoff.

WCHA teams: UAF, UAA, Bemidji (Buh-Midgee) State, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech, Minnesota State, Northern Michigan and Alabama-Huntsville a division 1 independent program.