BP announces Teachers of Excellence

BP will recognize seven Fairbanks North Star Borough School District educators selected as Teachers of Excellence for 2014. The 19th annual program recognizes teachers throughout Alaska for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students.

The 2014 Fairbanks North Star Borough BP Teachers of Excellence are:
Chris Greenfield-Pastro Randy Smith Middle School
Paul R. Harmon Austin E. Lathrop High School, English/social studies
Melanie Linton Ticasuk Brown Elementary School, music
Dave Merrill The Watershed School, third grade
Karen Millington Joy Elementary School, fourth grade
Ruth Segler North Pole Elementary School, first and second grades
LaLaunie Whisenhant Woodriver Elementary School, fourth grade

These teachers will be honored at an award reception on April 24 in Fairbanks. This was a record year for BP Teachers of Excellence with over 1,400 nominations, and the seven Fairbanks teachers are among 33 Alaska educators being honored as part of the 2014 program.

Each BP Teacher of Excellence receives a $500 gift card and an award certificate. In addition, the teacher’s school receives a matching $500 grant. One Fairbanks teacher will be chosen as BP’s Teacher of the Year to be announced at the April 24 reception. That teacher will receive a $1,500 scholarship for continuing education and a bronze sculpture by Alaska artist Mary Regat.

“Recognizing outstanding Alaska educators is among the most rewarding and important aspects of BP’s investment in Alaska,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss. “The oil and gas industry contributes to nearly half of Alaska’s education funding, so it is an honor to say thank you to those ensuring Alaska’s young people are receiving the best possible education.”