ASAA State Track and Field Meet results

FAIRBANKS, AK-The last ASAA StateTrack and Field meet in the Interior wrapped up Saturday. The state meet will move to Dimond next year. The state meet was hosted by West Valley 2005-2007. Lathrop has hosted the past six seasons.

The Kodiak Bears won the 4A boys title for first time since 2007. Dimond was a close second with 84 points. Lathrop was fourth with 56 points. The West Valley girls finished seventh (37 points) while Dimond won with 71 points for their fourth title in five years.

For the small schools Grace Christian ran away for back to back girls titles. ACS won the boys championship.

For Lathrop Hunter Desmond barely won the 100 meters in 11.77 seconds. He won by three hundredths of a second. Tevin Gladden won the triple jump going 42 feet and a half inch on his first attempt. The Malemutes also won the 4x100 and 4x200 relays.

The West Valley girls won the 4x100 and 4x200 relays as well. Megan Drange won the high jump title for West Valley.

Colony's Audrey Michealson won the 4A Most Outstanding Female Athlete award. Michealson won the 800, 1600 and 3200 meter distance races. Fellow distance star, Levi Thomet of Kodiak won male athlete award with his 1600 and 3200 victories.

For the small schools Eielson's Tony Griffith won the 100 meters in 11.63 seconds. Griffith was also second in the long jump with a 19 feet five inch jump on Friday.

Griffith came in second to Augustus Simmers of ACS who won the 1-3A Most Outstanding Male Athlete Award. Simmers won the high jump, long jump and was a part of the 4x200 winning relay team for the Lions.

Senior Claire Trujillo of Grace Christian won the female athlete award with her 1,600 meter and 4x800 relay title.

Here is a link to the complete ASAA/First National Bank Alaska Track and Field State Championships--