Alaska Sports Hall of Fame announces 2014 class

FAIRBANKS-The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame announced their Class of 2014 Inductees this week and they have ties to the Interior.

Jeannie Hebert-Truax a former North Pole and Monroe basketball star in the late 80s will be inducted. She was player of the year from 1986-1988. She went on to the University of Miami and finished her career top five in points, assists, and steals. Currently she is the head coach of the Wasilla Warriors girls team winning 3 straight state titles from 2010-2012.

Mario Chalmers of the Miami Heat is in the class. He was a three time player of the year for Alaska while at Bartlett High School where he won two state titles. The McDonald's All-American won a national title at Kansas and is a two time NBA Champion with the Heat.

For the event category the Yukon Quest was selected. The 1,000 mile International Sled Dog Race is regarded as the most challenging in the world due to the weather conditions and distance. It starts or ends in Fairbanks and Whitehorse Yukon every other February.

Also making the event category is when UAA defeated Michigan back on Dec 28,1988 in a tournament in Utah.. The Wolverines won the title that year but not before the Seawolves beat them 70-66.