78th International Bonspiel Ends with Thies and Carothers on top

FAIRBANKS, AK-The 78th International Bonspiel started on Thursday and ended yesterday. It was about focus on the last day of Bonspiel with the super heroes.

The Denny Thies rink came away with the men's title in a do or die match with the Mark Carothers rink. In the first game of the championship rounds the Thies rink won in six ends forcing the if game. In the eighth end of the championship the hammer came down for Thies rink to claim the title. Thies curled with Larry Ehnert, Larry Crouder and Jimmy Parrish while Carothers had Mike Persinger, Larry Meath, and Tony Johansen.

It took a heroic effort for the A bracket women's final between the Kaye Hufman rink and Susan Carothers rink. The Carothers won the championships, narrowly a 7-6 final over Huffman. The Susan Carothers rink went a perfect 6-0 to claim the women's Bonspiel title. Ardis Bourque, Elaine Thompson-MCgee and Lynda Sather were on the title team.

The Vicky Persinger rink won the B bracket on the women's side. Karen Spaleta, Barb Harmon, Sue Sprinkle and Amber Foster won the C bracket.

It was great weekend event that means a lot to these curlers.

"It's cool cause I don't really see my family that often. And it's cool to see them here curling and be able to play with them. There's not a lot of sports you can play with your parents," Tina Persinger said with a laugh.

International Bonspiel women's champion Ardis Bourque said her team was in a good position to make a run.

"Well we went through the round robin undefeated so, then we just uh, we had to play other top two teams of the other round robin and then you know, so it was just-its game by game. But when you come out on top of the round robin you got you know, you got a fairly good chance. It was exciting. We curled well throughout and we had really good draws and it was fun."