42nd Iditarod starts tomorrow

FAIRBANKS-This weekend the Super Bowl of dog mushing starts tomorrow morning. At 10am on 4th Avenue in Anchorage will be the ceremonial start of the 42nd Iditarod.

The warm winter could've moved the restart to Fairbanks but conditions improved near Willow. That's where the official restart will be on Sunday at 2pm.

The oldest musher to win the Iditarod, Mitch Seavey, 54, is back to defend his title.

Four time winner Jeff King is back for another run as is Aily Zirkle who's finished second last year and in 2012. Her husband, Allen Moore, coming off of consecutive Yukon Quest titles is in the 70 musher field as well.

Lance Mackey will not race citing health concerns and young dogs. Curt Prenao of New Zealand will be the first musher out of Anchorage tomorrow.

For the locals Paige Drobny of Fairbanks will be the second musher to hit the trail. Other Fairbanksans in the Iditarod are John Dixon, Alex Buetow, and Ken Anderson.

The first musher to reach the finish in Nome gets $50,000 and a new pickup truck.

We'll have daily updates on webcenter11.com and KTVF Channel 11.