The 2013 Iditarod is on

ANCHORAGE, Ak-The ultimate dog sled race the Iditarod commenced this weekend. So far Ed Stielstra is the only scratched musher.

Today we have the current leaderboard.

Leading the pack after a few days of mushing is Martin Buser. The four time Iditarod champion is at the Rohn checkpoint. Matt Foiler, Paul Gebhardt, and the Mackey brothers Lane Mackey and Jason Mackey complete the top five.
Other notables include Aily Zurkle last years runner up is ninth, Ken Anderson of Fairbanks is seventeenth, The 2013 Yukon Quest champ Allen Moore at 23, defending Iditarod champion Dallas Seavey is 29 and Brent Sass last year's rookie of the year is at 35.

For the most up to date race standings go to .